Latest News


This article was published on 08 June 2018 at 02:07 PM. It has 20 views so far.

Armenia will oppose Azerbaijan’s accession to the Eurasian Economic Union, Armenian Foreign Minister Zohrab Mnatsakanyan stated.

‘Azerbaijan is a country that blocks Armenia today, takes unilateral measures against Armenia,’ Mnatsakanyan said in an interview with the Kommersant newspaper.

Zohrab Mnatsakanyan
‘Look even at the terminology used against Armenia and against Armenians all over the world. The EAEU is an organisation for cooperation. What do you expect from us,’ he added.

Responding to a request to clarify whether this means that Armenia will be against Azerbaijan’s joining the EAEU, the Armenian FM said: ‘You have formalised Armenia’s position.’

The EAEU was established on the basis of the Customs Union and the Single Economic Space and is effective from January 1, 2015. The members of the EAEU are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia.